Archive for the ‘databases’ Category

PubMed Filters Sidebar Replaces the Limits Page

Friday, May 18th, 2012

On May 10, 2012, PubMed added a filters sidebar on left side of the results screen, and removed the “Limits” link listed below the search box.

Watch the YouTube video or read the NLM Technical Bulletin to learn more.

Want help using the new interface? Please do Ask Us.

Search engines and usability for finding medical information online: a new study

Friday, May 18th, 2012

search for health literacy postsHow effective are Internet search engines at helping people find health and medical information online? According to a recent study in the open access Journal of Medical Internet Research,

Google, Yahoo!, Bing, and Ask.com are by and large effective search engines for helping lay users get health and medical information. Nevertheless, the current ranking methods have some pitfalls and there is room for improvement to help users get more accurate and useful information. We suggest that search engine users explore multiple search engines to search different types of health information and medical knowledge for their own needs and get a professional consultation if necessary.

Researchers searched for “breast cancer” using the four top search engines, combined the top 200 non-redundant results from each source into a list, and then gave that list to eight volunteers to evaluate, scoring there relevance to research on a scale of 0-10 (low to high). Volunteers were all highly educated, most of them with backgrounds in science. They were provided with six “gold standard” sites for information on this topic to compare against before making their determination:

  1. U.S. National Cancer Institute
  2. American Cancer Society
  3. Mayo Clinic
  4. MedicineNet
  5. Wikipedia
  6. Susan G. Komen for the Cure

The volunteers tended to score the popular science and personal websites the highest overall, while scoring corporation and advertising websites the lowest. Researchers conclude that search engines do provide good information overall, though their sample is small, both in number of participants and topics searched.

This study has a number of serious flaws in it, and begs the question: is a little bit of mediocre research better than no research at all? First, the high education levels of the volunteer evaluators, plus their choices to score popular science websites above commercial websites indicate high levels of information literacy. Yet other research shows that over 90 million adults in the U.S. (36% of the population) have poor health literacy. How would people like this evaluate and select the right sources using a search engine? As any librarian watching patrons search will tell you, most people never look beyond the first three search results, let alone the first page of results. And search engines like Google employ algorithms to customize search results based on your previous searches, which may or may not give you the best resources.

Next, the researchers note the shortcomings of search engines in “ranking the websites according to their usefulness,” and recommend that “users apply multiple search engines when looking for medical and health information online, instead of using only a single search engine.” As a librarian and past computer consultant, I’ve learned that many people cannot distinguish between “the Internet” and a web browser, let alone utilize and critically evaluate search engines and the search results they generate. Librarians and researchers are the professionals best suited to handle that task.

Finally, while the “gold standard” sites probably contain all the basic information on breast cancer from the view of their medical expert, how readable and understandable is their content across different groups and ability levels? Had the researchers chosen to include a librarian on their team, she or he could have provided important insight and evaluation of these sites in this area. And why was a site like MedicineNet included while MedlinePlus was excluded from the short list? MedlinePlus is advertisement-free, offers information in Spanish and other languages, and is written at a level that can be understood by a wider audience.

While search engines will, generally speaking, help end users find helpful health and medical information, the will inevitably lead some people to inaccurate or misleading information. And with so many people having low information and health literacy skills, it is imperative that they be directed to quality, evidence-based resources for answers to their questions. This study does nothing to assist in that endeavor.

References:

Kutner, M. (2007). Literacy in everyday life: Results from the 2003 National Assessment of Adult Literacy.

Wang, L., Wang, J., Wang, M., Li, Y., Liang, Y., & Xu, D. (2012). Using Internet Search Engines to Obtain Medical Information: A Comparative Study. Journal of medical Internet research, 14(3).

New look for STAT!Ref

Monday, August 29th, 2011

Among the top-quality information resources provided by Eccles Library is STAT!Ref, a cross-searchable electronic medical resource that integrates core texts and reference titles with evidence-based clinical guidance resources from various publishers including McGraw-Hill, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Micromedix, WebMD, Merck Research, and American College of Physicians. Recently, STAT!Ref underwent a user-interface (UI) redesign, and it includes updated search functionality with customized features specifically tailored to your needs. The new UI includes:

  • Updated search functionality
  • Enhanced access to tools needed to make your research easier – such as Stedman’s Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000
  • Dynamic ability to quickly download tables, figures and images for presentations
  • A powerful search engine that keeps historical track of your research, enabling you to automatically retrieve your “favorites”
  • Redesigned layout making it easier to locate resources and find relevant, authoritative, evidence-based information
  • Enhanced ease of access to bibliographic citations – such as Refworks and Endnote
  • More user preference options that enable enhanced customization

New user interface for STAT!Ref

Because this is a subscription-based resource, users need to be affilitates (students, faculty, staff, etc.) of the University of Utah, or access it from an on-campus computer.

Try it here, and tell us what you think!

PubMed Central facelift

Monday, July 18th, 2011

PubMed Central's user interface has just been updated.As reported Friday in the NLM Technical Bulletin, PubMed Central has an updated user interface.

Specific improvements include:

  • A revamped homepage, which offers better navigation through the site as well as direct access to resources such as the Users’ Guide and NIH Public Access information
  • Redesigned Advanced Search and Limits pages
  • An updated search results format
  • Direct access to images in PMC articles
  • A new organization and updated appearance for PMC’s informational pages, including drop-down menus for navigation links

A tour complete with screenshots is available in the latest bulletin.

NCBI Classes Available

Friday, July 8th, 2011

The Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library is hosting two NCBI classes in the coming week. Peter Cooper from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) will be presenting BLAST and Genomes Updates. Peter will present these two sessions via Adobe Connect. Please join us in the Eccles Health Sciences Education Building, Room 3100B. There is no fee to attend, but please register.

Class: BLAST: The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool
Date
: Friday, July 15, 2011
Time: 10:00-11:00 a.m.
Place:
HSEB 3100 B
Description:
The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of local similarity between protein or nucleotide sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence in a database and calculates the statistical significance of the matches. This class provides an introduction to BLAST and then describes the practical application of different BLAST program.

Class: Genomes Updates
Date:
Monday, July 18, 2011
Time:
11:00 a.m.-Noon
Place:
HSEB 3100 B
Description: Contains sequence and map data from the whole genomes of over 1000 organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress.

For more information contact Jeanne Le Ber; 801-585-6744

Library Catalog upgrade, May 26 – June 2

Friday, May 27th, 2011

Due to upgrading software, the Library Catalog (USEARCH) may be temporarily unavailable May 26 – June 2, 2011.

As an alternative, use WorldCat to find items in libraries near you. Please contact us with questions or concerns.

TOXNET and Beyond

Thursday, May 26th, 2011

The Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library is hosting  TOXNET and Beyond: Using the National Library of Medicine’s Environmental and Toxicology Portal webinar on Wednesday, June 1 and Friday, June 3. Stephanie Publicker, from Specialized Information Services, will present these two sessions via Adobe Connect. Please join us in the Eccles Health Sciences Education Building, Room 3100-B at 10:00 a.m. for both. There is no fee to attend, but please register.

PART ONE: Introduces users to the Environmental Health and Toxicology Portal and covers the basics of searching the TOXNET system, including saving, printing and downloading citations. The databases covered in this session address factual and bibliographic information about chemicals and toxicology. (Wednesday, June 1, 2011 at 10:00-Noon)

PART TWO: Continues the exploration of the portal by introducing resources that can be used to learn about environmental exposure, map environmental release data, and find drug and dietary supplement information. (Friday, June 3, 2011 at 10:00-11:30 a.m.)

For more information contact Jeanne Le Ber; 801-585-6744

New Library Catalog

Friday, May 14th, 2010

As part of the University of Utah Libraries, Eccles Health Sciences Library now has a new catalog!

With this new search and discovery tool, you will be able to search all University of Utah Libraries:
•  J. Willard Marriott Library
•  S. J. Quinney Law Library
•  Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library
•  Emma Ray Riggs McKay Music Library
•  Harold and Kaye Dunn Orthopaedic Library
•  Hope Fox Eccles Clinical Library
•  John and Toni Bloomberg Ophthalmology Library

Features include:
•  Find books, journals, digital content and more using one search interface
•  Access e-books and e-journals with one click
•  Save items in a personal e-Shelf or export them to EndNote
•  Narrow your results by availability, collection, resource type, topic, publication date, language, author, and classification
•  Get suggestions for different searches or strategies if you don’t find what you need
•  Use Google/Amazon-like features including: Did You Mean? (Spell-Check), Find More Like This, & Book Covers

What will you discover?

New University Libraries catalog pages

New University Libraries catalog pages

PubMed and finding citations

Tuesday, May 4th, 2010

Today’s NLM Technical Bulletin offers a tip for those trying to find a specific citation using PubMed searching. Built into its search engine is a “citation sensor” which can “recognize combinations of search terms that are characteristic of citation searching” and match them to citations. By entering the entire title of a citation you are trying to find (or at least six words from that title), the citation sensor is invoked and the desired item is quickly found. It is more effective if the searcher refrains from using Boolean terms and/or tags.

New addition to PubMed Central International

Friday, April 30th, 2010

In January, PubMed Central Canada was added to PMC International. As explained in the original bulletin:

PMC Canada is the result of a three-way collaborative effort by the National Library of Medicine®, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), and the National Research Council’s Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (NRC-CISTI). Similar to United Kingdom PubMed Central, PMC Canada will include most of the health and life sciences literature available through the United States PMC. PMC Canada will also include research resulting from funding through the CIHR.

And as of April 28, 2010, they have added a manuscript submission system which supports the Canadian Institutes of Health Research system’s “Policy on Access to Research Outputs, which requires CIHR grant recipients to make their peer-reviewed publications freely accessible online within six months of publication.” PubMed Central Canada is available in both English and French.