Multiple Sclerosis: Classification  
  1. Benign Multiple Sclerosis

    Mild infrequent sensory exacerbations with full recovery.

  2. Relapsing Remitting Multiple Sclerosis

    Episodes of exacerbations and remissions during which not all symptoms resolve completely. The patient may be left with permanent disability which may vary in severity. relapses are often more severe than in the previous group. Relapses also become more severe with time.

  3. Secondary Chronic Progressive

    Condition of patients with relapsing/remitting disease begins to gradually worsen over time with resulting accumulation of neurologic signs and symptoms. In this form of the disease, relapses become more severe while remissions are less complete, shorter in duration, and eventually non-existent. The course of MS becomes steadily progressive.

  4. Primary Progressive

    There is no history of relapse in these patients. Disease begins with a slow progression of neurologic deficits. Problems appear and gradually worsen over time. Common problems include spastic paraparesis, cerebellar ataxia, urinary incontinence.

      BACK arrow  Back